Whisky Regions | Haig Club

Whisky Regions | Haig Club

Explore Haig Club:

Whisky Regions

Whisky is such a beloved drink, distilleries can be found all over the world. But there are some regions where whisky is a way of life. Introducing the five giants of the whisky-making world.


Home to over 100 distilleries, Scotland is the grandfather of whisky. To earn the highly coveted "Scotch" label, whisky must be matured in the country for at least three years and in oak casks.


Triple distillation, a pot still and an additional "e" is what differentiates Irish whiskey from Scotch whisky. A different malting process also contributes to its famously smooth character.


Also spelled with an "e", American whiskey is characterised by a mix of grains including rye, corn, barley and wheat as the main ingredients that are cooked at higher temperatures than Scotch. America is also the home of Bourbon.


Canadian whisky saw the addition of rye to their mashes, which contributed to its smooth taste and light colour. Like Scotland, it must be aged for three years to be called Canadian whisky and in small wooden barrels.


Though its history of whisky production is a little younger, Japanese whisky has been compared to traditional Scotch with modern flavour twists.



Types of Whisky

From Single Malts to Bourbons, find out the different types of whisky you can enjoy...

Learn More

Tasting and Flavour

Discover the different flavour notes of whisky from our tasting cues...

Learn More

How to Drink Whisky

Explore all the options for enjoying Whisky and find how you like to drink it...

Learn More
< Back to the Whisky Guide
    You are here:
  1. Home
  2.  >
  3. Whisky Guide
  4.  >
  5. Whisky Regions