Whisky Facts | Haig Club

Whisky Facts | Haig Club

Explore Haig Club:

Whisky Facts

There's a reason so much has been written about whisky. From its rich history to legendary drinkers to ways to enjoy it, whisky continues to inspire people to tell its tale. We've put together some of our favourite facts for your enjoyment.

To ā€œEā€ or not to ā€œEā€?

The answer can be traced back to Irish whisky makers adding an 'e' to distinguish themselves from Scottish whisky. As a rule, whisky produced in Ireland or America is spelled with an "e" while Scottish and other whiskies of the world are not.


There are over 100 distilleries in Scotland but 5 major regions produce the famous drink: The Highlands, Lowlands, Campbeltown, Speyside and Islay. These regions are famous for their own style of whisky distinguishable by character and flavour.

Distinctly Scottish

For whisky to be called Scotch, it must be matured in Scotland in oak casks for at least three years and one day by law.

Water of Life

The Gaelic term for whisky is "uisage beatha" which comes from the Latin, "aqua vitae." This means water of life. This definition gives some indication to the kind of reverence whisky has inspired throughout history.

The Angel Share

Every year, about 2% of whisky held in barrels evaporates. This is known as the Angels Share.

Types of Whisky >


Food Pairings

Haig Club is a great whisky to enjoy with all sorts of food, explore some suggestions...

Learn More

Types of Whisky

From Single Malts to Bourbons, find out the different types of whisky you can enjoy...

Learn More

Whisky Regions

Find out more about five of the largest whisky-making regions of the world...

Learn More
< Back to the Whisky Guide
    You are here:
  1. Home
  2.  >
  3. Whisky Guide
  4.  >
  5. Whisky Facts